• a person holding a sign posing for the camera

The Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards

Hayes & Jarvis to sponsor ‘diverse, engaging, approachable and transformative’ Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards.

We are delighted to announce the new partnership of Hayes & Jarvis and the Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards 2018. Our unique approach to bespoke holidays epitomises the spirit of Stanfords’ clientele making Hayes & Jarvis the perfect match to sponsor this prestigious award ceremony.  

The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 1 February so keep an eye out for when we announce the winning titles.

The Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards

a close up of a logo

History of Stanfords

Stanfords was established in 1853 by Edward Stanford in Charing Cross in London. At that time, the company was primarily a cartographer, producing some of the most beautiful maps in the world. It rose to prominence and was known as the first port-of-call for many famous travellers including Robert Falcon Scott, Sir Ernest Shackleton and Florence Nightingale.


A treasure trove for travellers

Today, Stanfords is the UK's leading specialist retailer of maps, travel books and travel accessories, representing products from every country in the world. The shop not only stocks current maps and guides but an enormous range of historic mapping, travel literature, travel themed furniture as well as an incredible range of globes.   Stanfords is, quite simply, a treasure trove for both the intrepid explorer and the casual traveller alike.

Levison Wood, Michael Palin are posing for a picture

The Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards

Celebrating excellence in travel writing across the world, the Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards began in 2015. This was the first time that travel writing had been fully recognised – it’s an amazing celebration of the very best in every area of the genre. The first lavish awards ceremony took place last February at Olympia in London. The event was an outstanding success, a star-studded affair with many great writers and adventurers attending including Michael Palin, Levison Wood and Sarah Outen.   

a close up of a sign

How the awards work

The shortlist for the travel awards will be announced on 10 January 2018 and will be live on our website on 11 January for you to vote for your favourite authors and titles. The winners will be announced on 1 February 2018. Hayes & Jarvis will also be streaming the announcement of the shortlist live on our Facebook channel, plus we’ll be posting live content on our Instagram and Twitter accounts.